Meet NAIT's 2023 Honorary Degree recipients

Nominate a potential 2024 honorary degree recipient

Do you know someone who

  • is a leader who has made extraordinary community contributions locally, provincially and even nationally?
  • embodies NAIT's vision, values and promises?
  • stands for a more inclusive, equitable and diverse community?
  • believes in the value of polytechnic education and lifelong learning?
  • sets the example for current and future graduates?

If so, they may be deserving of one of NAIT's highest honours, an honorary degree. And you can help them earn it. Put their name forward before Jan. 5, 2024!

Make a nomination now

Three community-builders drive innovation in media, business and health care

Each year, NAIT selects members of the community as recipients of honorary degrees. They’re accomplished locally and beyond, represent the polytechnic’s mission, and are dedicated community builders.

This year, those recipients are

“Congratulations to Jason Gregor, Dr. Sharla King and Hubert Lau on receiving honorary degrees from NAIT,” says Peter Leclaire, NAIT vice-president, academic.

“These remarkable individuals embody the spirit of excellence, dedication and community impact."

“These remarkable individuals embody the spirit of excellence, dedication and community impact. Their contributions to sports media, interprofessional health-care education and entrepreneurship have left an indelible mark on Edmonton and beyond.”

Each recipient will receive the polytechnic’s highest honour on June 26 and 27 during NAIT's Convocation ceremonies at the Edmonton Convention Centre. Here's a look at why they've been named 2023 honorary degree recipients and what that means to our communities.

Jason Gregor – Honorary Bachelor of Technology

jason greg, nait radio and television grad and honorary degree recipient

When Jason Gregor (Radio and Television – Radio ’01) decided to leave his oilfield job in the late '90s to pursue a career in sports radio broadcasting, he didn’t imagine he would eventually go on to be the owner and host of one Edmonton’s most popular sports talk shows, The Jason Gregor Show, and be able to use his platform to raise more than $3 million for local charities.

Learn more about Jason Gregor

Dr. Sharla King – Honorary Bachelor of Technology

sharla king, nait honorary degree recipient

More than a decade ago, University of Alberta Educational Psychology professor Dr. Sharla King and her colleagues acted to address what they saw as a gap in interprofessional health-care education. The result – and legacy – of her work was the creation of an interactive learning event called Help! Save Stan. Today, hundreds of health-care students have had the opportunity to work together before meeting one another on the job, contributing to better patient outcomes for Albertans.

Learn more about Dr. Sharla King

Hubert Lau – Honorary Bachelor of Business Administration

hubert lau, nait computer systems technology grad and honorary degree recipient

For Hubert Lau (Computer Systems Technology '91), failure is invaluable. It can be painful, but the lessons learned can lead to greater successes. This is wisdom the lifelong entrepreneur and owner and president of TrustBIX shares with JR Shaw School of Business students as a volunteer mentor. In addition to being among the polytechnic's strongest supporters and connectors to the local business community, Lau champions the success of other local entrepreneurs and development initiatives through organizations including the China-Canada Business Association and Edmonton Global.

Learn more about Hubert Lau

Subscribe to receive more great stories every month

Find out more news about NAIT, stories about our alumni and their impact on their communities, and useful how-to content featuring our experts.

Sign up today »